National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

NAMI Honors Exemplary Psychiatrists and Celebrates 25th Anniversary at the 156th Annual APA Meeting in New York, NY

NAMI's 14th Annual Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards Breakfast took place on Tuesday, May 4, 2004 from 8-9am at the New Yorker Hotel in Manhattan.

This year, NAMI honored 16 physicians with the Exemplary Psychiatrist Award. These psychiatrists are exemplary in developing or directing innovative training programs which demonstrate consumer and family-driven best-practices. The awards are considered one of the highest honors a psychiatrist can achieve, because they come from people who need their help the most—people living with mental illnesses and their families.

"Exemplary psychiatrists are caring professionals who go the extra mile to help their communities," says NAMI acting national executive director Michael J. Fitzpatrick. "They share our commitment to improving the quality of life for people living with brain disorders, ensuring dignity, raising public awareness, and working to increase access to needed treatment and services."

Speakers at the breakfast included NAMI National Board President, Margaret Stout, APA President Elect and President and CEO of Sheppard Pratt, Steven S. Sharfstein, M.D., Birnbaum/Blum Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, Leighton Y. Huey, M.D., NAMI National Director of Education, Joyce Burland, Ph.D., and NAMI National Acting Executive Director, Michael J. Fitzpatrick, MSW.

To celebrate NAMI's 25th Anniversary, all past Exemplary Psychiartists, ranging from its inception in 1992 to the present winners in 2004, were invited and honored at the event as well. 2004 winners are listed below.


John V. Campo, M.D., Pennsylvania

Charles R. Conway, M.D., Missouri

David L. Cutler, M.D., Oregon

Kathleen Ann Daly, M.D. M.P.H., California

John Hawkins, M.D., Ohio

Alison Margaret Heru, M.D., Rhode Island

Leighton Y. Huey, M.D., Connecticut

Zelko Leon, M.D., Rhode Island

David A. Pollack, M.D., Oregon

Ann Morrison, M.D., Ohio

Mark R. Munetz, M.D., Ohio

Alan Schmetzer, M.D., Indiana

Leslie Smith, M.D., Arkansas

Mary Kay Smith, M.D., Ohio

Bernardo C. Tarin-Godoy, M.D., Texas

John W. Tsuang, M.D. M.S., California


View additional photos of the 2004 Exemplary Psychiatrists Awards Ceremony