National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

Support Federal Funding for Mental Illness Research

March 11, 2008

Congress will soon take up FY 2009 funding for the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and the larger National Institutes of Health (NIH).  NAMI is working with a broad coalition of chronic disease and patient advocacy organizations to press for a 6.5% increase for the overall NIH budget, including NIMH.  As part of this effort NAMI is urging all House members to sign on to a letter being circulated by Representatives Edward Markey (MA), David Reichert (WA), Janice Schakowsky (IL), Christopher Shays (CT), Joe Courtney (CT) and Christopher Smith (NJ). 

Action Required

Advocates are strongly encouraged to contact their House member to urge them to sign on to this letter.  Time is of the essence since the deadline for House members to sign on is March 14.

Click here to send your House member a message in support of increased funding for the NIH and NIMH. (note:  This action alert is through the broader coalition and is not part of NAMI's Legislative Action Center.)

If your House member has already signed on, please call them to thank them for their support for medical research funding.

Representatives Signed-on to NIH Letter, as of March 10 

Vic Snyder, AR
Gabrielle Giffords, AZ
Henry A. Waxman, CA
Howard L. Berman, CA
Lois Capps, CA
Anna G. Eshoo, CA
Elton Gallegly, CA
Doris O. Matsui, CA
Bob Filner, CA
Linda T. Sánchez, CA
Lynn C. Woolsey, CA
Ed Perlmutter, CO
Diana DeGette, CO
Joe Courtney, CT
Christopher Shays, CT
Eleanor Holmes Norton, DC
Ron Klein, FL
Robert Wexler, FL
Henry C. Johnson, GA
Neil Abercrombie, HI
Leonard L. Boswell, IA
Bruce L. Braley, IA
David Loebsack, IA
Janice D. Schakowsky, IL
Melissa L. Bean, IL
Nancy E. Boyda, KS
Dennis Moore, KS
William J. Jefferson, LA
Edward J. Markey, MA
Elijah E. Cummings, MD
Chris Van Hollen, MD
Michael H. Michaud, ME
Sander M. Levin, MI
Fred Upton, MI
Dale E. Kildee, MI
Jim Ramstad, MN
Keith Ellison, MN
Timothy J. Walz, MN
Wm. Lacy Clay, MO
Bob Etheridge, NC
Brad Miller, NC
Mike McIntyre, NC
Earl Pomeroy, ND
Christopher H. Smith, NJ
Rush D. Holt, NJ
Donald M. Payne, NJ
Albio Sires, NJ
Stevan Pearce, NM
Jon C. Porter, NV
Shelley Berkley, NV
Eliot L. Engel, NY
John J. Hall, NY
Brian Higgins, NY
Maurice D. Hinchey, NY
Carolyn B. Maloney, NY
Jerrold Nadler, NY
Louise McIntosh Slaughter, NY
Carolyn McCarthy, NY
Dennis J. Kucinich, OH
Deborah Pryce, OH
Betty Sutton, OH
David Wu, OR
Todd Russell Platts, PA
Jason Altmire, PA
Christopher P. Carney, PA
Patrick J. Murphy, PA
James R. Langevin, RI
Steve Cohen, TN
Al Green, TX
Eddie Bernice Johnson, TX
Sheila Jackson-Lee, TX
Silvestre Reyes, TX
Robert C. Scott, VA
Jim McDermott, WA
David G. Reichert, WA
Adam Smith, WA
Rick Larsen, WA
Tammy Baldwin, WI
Ron Kind, WI