National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

Started in 1990, the Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program allows NAMI members, NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates throughout the country to honor publicly the exceptional contributions that many psychiatrists make to improve the lives of people living with mental illness. All of the nominations are submitted through a NAMI State Organization or NAMI Affiliate office.

Since the Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program was established, more than 1,000 awards have been presented. Many psychiatrists have described this award as one of the most important honors that they can receive because it comes from the people who need their help the most- people whose lives are affected by mental illness.

The criteria for these awards recognize psychiatrists who have gone the extra mile with NAMI members and have made substantial contributions to NAMI Affiliate or NAMI State Organization activities. For more information about NAMI's Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program, contact Kryssa Kriticos at (703) 516-7993 or email:

Award Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2007 Winners

2006 Winners

Click here to download a complete list of winners.