National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

Convention to Honor NAMI Leaders

June 18, 2009

Arlington, VA—The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) will present more than 20 awards at its national convention in San Francisco, July 5-9, 2009, honoring exemplary leadership at the national, state and local levels. Below is a partial list that includes only NAMI leaders. Detailed information and additional awards can be found on pages 8-10 of the convention program that is now available on the NAMI Web site.

Distinguished Service Award

Stella March

NAMI Greater Los Angeles

NAMI Founder and StigmaBuster coordinator

Outstanding NAMI Member

Roscoe Swann (posthumous)

NAMI Prince George’s County (MD)

Outstanding State Organization

NAMI Minnesota

Outstanding Local Affiliate

NAMI Central Ozarks (MO)

Consumer Council Ken Steele Award

Denver Nobles

NAMI Louisiana

Consumer Council Exemplary State Award

NAMI Florida

NAMI Veterans Council “Courage Under Fire” Award

Marlene Warnke

NAMI North Dakota

Family-to-Family Leadership Award

Brenda Piper

NAMI North Carolina

Peer-to-Peer Distinguished Service Award

Rose Marie Delaney

NAMI Florida

In Our Own Voice Distinguished Service Award

Deborah Karr

NAMI New Hampshire

Philip and Sarah Francoeur Award (Housing)

NAMI southwest Louisiana

Multicultural Outreach Award

Jackie Lukitsch

NAMI St. Louis

# # #