National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

December 14, 2001

House-Senate Conferees Preparing to Vote

We have learned that Chairman Ralph Regula (R-OH) has scheduled a vote on the Domenici-Wellstone parity amendment on December 18, 2001. All members of the Committee will be asked to vote "yes" or "no" on the parity amendment. Now is the time for us to flood the switchboards of all Conferees urging their support of parity.

Immediate Action Required

If your Representative is on the Conference Committee (see list below), please call their office to urge their support of the Domenici-Wellstone amendment to the Labor-Health and Human Services - Education Appropriations Bill (HR 3061).

If your Senator is on the Conference Committee (see list below), please call their office and urge them to hold firm in support of S. 543, the parity amendment. Since the Senate passed the Domenici-Wellstone Amendment unanimously on October 30, urge your Senator NOT to sign the final conference report if a parity amendment is excluded.

If your Representative or Senators are not on the Conference Committee, it is still important for you to call their office and urge their support of the parity amendment.

NAMI and its colleague advocacy organizations have set up a toll-free parity "legislative hotline" at 1-866-PARITY4 (1-866-727-4894). By calling this number, you will reach the Capitol Switchboard. When you do, ask for your Representative's office by name or by giving your home ZIP code.

Once connected, advocates should ask to speak to the member's Health Legislative Assistant and urge them to support the Domenici-Wellstone mental illness parity amendment to the Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations bill (HR 3061). Please use "Parity Talking Points" when talking with members of Congress or their staff.

House: Randy "Duke" Cunningham (R-Escondido, CA), Rosa DeLauro (D-New Haven, CT), Kay Granger (R-Ft. Worth, TX), Steny Hoyer (D-Greenbelt/Waldorf, MD), Ernest Istook (R-Oklahoma City, OK), Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-Chicago/Homewood, IL), Patrick Kennedy (D-Woonsocket/Newport, RI), Nita Lowey, (D-White Plains, NY), Dan Miller (R-Sarasota/Bradenton, FL), Anne M. Northup (R-Louisville, KY), David Obey (D-Superior/Wausau, WI), Nancy Pelosi (D-San Francisco, CA), John Peterson (R-State College, PA), Ralph Regula (R-Canton, OH), Don Sherwood (R-Scranton, PA), Roger Wicker (R-Tupelo, MS) and C.W. "Bill" Young (R-St. Petersburg, FL).

Senate: Robert Byrd (D-WV), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Larry Craig (R-ID), Mike DeWine (R-OH), Judd Gregg (R-NH), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Ernest Hollings (D-SC), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Herb Kohl (D-WI), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Harry Reid (D-NV), Arlen Specter (R-PA) and Ted Stevens (R-AK).

We are in the final home stretch! Your advocacy is more important than ever! We appreciate all you do.