National Alliance on Mental Illness
page printed from
(800) 950-NAMI;

NAMI Honors Exemplary Psychiatrists

30 doctors from 21 states who "go the extra mile" for individuals, families and communities

May 6, 2008

Washington, D.C. —The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is honoring 30 doctors as "Exemplary Psychiatrists" at the annual conference of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) in the nation’s capital this week.

"We are proud to honor 30 psychiatrists from  21 states, who are stars within the nation’s mental healthcare system," said NAMI national executive director Michael J. Fitzpatrick. "They each have shown an exemplary commitment to treatment and recovery for people with severe mental illnesses, who often are among the nation’s most vulnerable populations."

The annual "Exemplary Psychiatry Awards" recognize psychiatrists who have "gone the extra mile" in providing excellent clinical care, educating family members and consumers, educating the public and helping to reduce stigma surrounding mental illness. They also have worked alongside NAMI members in their communities as advocates for research, social services, insurance parity, and other needs.

The awards carry special distinction because honorees are nominated by the very people who need and receive their help the most: individuals and families who are affected by mental illness. Support for the awards is provided by Eli Lilly and Company and Janssen, Division of Ortho-McNeil-Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

NAMI 2008 Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards


Roxy F. Szeftel, MD - Los Angeles       


Juan F. Rios, MD - Boca Raton


Farrell H. Braziel, MD - Atlanta
Winston R. Pineda, MD - Albany


Bruce Sieleni, MD - Iowa City
Nancy A. Williams, MD - Iowa City


Charles I. Shelton, DO - Lexington


Michael A. Jenike, MD - Boston


Michele Reid, MD - Detroit
Manuel E. Tancer, MD - Detroit


Susan C. Jenkins, MD - Rochester
Christine Sigurdson, MD - Byron
L. Read Sulik, MD, FAAP - St. Cloud


Azfar M. Malik, MD, MBA, FAPA - St. Charles


Mark William Viner, MD - Reno

New Mexico

Juan R. Bustillo, MD - Albuquerque

New Jersey

William P. Hayes, MD - Princeton

New York

Spencer Eth, MD - New York


Rafay Atiq, MD - Troy
Todd Ivan, MD - Akron
S.R. Thorward, MD - Worthington


Bruce C. Stanton, MD - Oklahoma City


Jocelyn W. Bonner, MD - Eugene


Steven J. Siegel, MD, PhD - Philadelphia
Suzanne Vogel-Scibilia, MD - Beaver

Rhode Island

Achina P. Stein, DO - Barrington


Clifton R. Tennison, Jr., MD - Knoxville


Sylvia Muzquiz-Drummond, MD - Houston


James M. Laster, MD, MPH - Virginia Beach
M. Lawrence Spoont, MD - Arlington

View photo's from the 2008 Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards breakfast

# # #