In This Section


2012 Exemplary Psychiatrist Award Winners

PHILADELPHIA, May 7, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) has honored 17 doctors as "Exemplary Psychiatrists" at the American Psychiatric Association (APA) annual conference in Philadelphia.

"We are proud to honor these psychiatrists for their exceptional dedication to people living with mental illness," said NAMI Executive Director Michael J. Fitzpatrick.

NAMI's annual Exemplary Psychiatrists Awards honor psychiatrists who "go the extra mile" in their commitment to excellent care, reducing the stigma surrounding mental illness and working closely with NAMI members in their communities for public education and advocacy

Honorees were nominated by NAMI State Organizations or NAMI Affiliates.

NAMI honors 17 exemplary psychiatrists:


Richard C. Shelton, M.D.  –  Birmingham


Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. -  San Diego                                 


Daniel M. Koenigsberg, M.D.  - Woodbridge
Rajiv Tandon, M.D. -  Gainesville                              


Archana Goel Leon-Guerrero, M.D-  Ellicott City         

Elias Karim Shaya, M.D. -  Baltimore                      


Ivan W. Sletten, M.D. - Stillwater                          

Scott J. Crow, M.D. -  Minneapolis                                   

David G. Einzig, M.D -   St. Paul

Mark A. Preston, M.D. - West Des Moines

New Hampshire

Alexander de Nesnera, M.D.  - Concord

New Jersey

Rosalie Greenberg, M.D. - Summit
Robert G. Stern, M.D. - Cedar Grove                        

New Mexico

Robert R. Franklin, M.D., M.P.H., T.M. - Taos


Steven W. Jewell, M.D. - Akron

Anamari Camis Milam, M.D. - San Antonio

Douglas D. Gray, M.D. - Salt Lake City
View Photos from the 2012 Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards Ceremony 

Back to top