NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness Home | About NAMI | Contact Us | En Espanol  | Donate  
  Advanced Search  

Sign In
Register and Join
What's New
State & Local NAMIs
Advocate Magazine
NAMI Newsroom
NAMI Store
National Convention
Special Needs Estate Planning
NAMI Travel

Print this page
Graphic Site
Log Out
 | Print this page | 

2013 NAMI National Convention Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Gary Mihelish, D.M.D.

The Distinguished Service Award is NAMIís highest honor, given in recognition of exceptional efforts to further NAMIís goal of improving the lives of people who live with mental illness.

Young Leader Award

Stacy Hollingsworth

The NAMI Young Leader Award is given to a young adult, aged 16 - 30, who has exhibited exceptional leadership ability while working to increase resiliency, promote recovery and help ensure that young people living with mental illness live a full life in the community.

The Rona and Ken Purdy Award to End Discrimination

The Vancuver Canucks of the National Hockey League

The Rona and Ken Purdy Award honors an individual or organization that has done significant work in raising public awareness about mental illness and reducing stigma.

Multicultural Outreach Award

Brenda Wesley

The Multicultural Outreach Award honors effective efforts to ensure that diversity and inclusion are high priorities within NAMI.

Lionel Aldridge Champion Award

Peggy Swarbrick, Ph.D.

The Lionel Aldridge Champion Award recognizes an individual living with mental illness who exhibits courage, leadership and service on behalf of all people living with mental illness.

Sam Cochran Criminal Justice Award

Senior Corporal Herb Cotner

Named for the founder of the Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) training program, this award is given to recognize outstanding work in the criminal justice system to deal fairly and humanely with people living with mental illness.

Richard T. Greer Advocacy Award

Eva Eastwood

Named for NAMIís first legislative director and life-long grassroots advocate Dick Greer, this award recognizes leadership and vision in advocacy.

Outstanding NAMI State Organization Award

NAMI Wisconsin

The Outstanding NAMI State Organization Award is given to recognize exceptional efforts on the state level to further NAMIís mission.

Outstanding NAMI Affiliate Award

NAMI Austin

The Outstanding NAMI Affiliate Award honors exemplary efforts to achieve NAMIís goals on the local level.

Outstanding NAMI Member Award

Doug and Ruth McKnight

The Outstanding NAMI member award is the highest honor that NAMI gives to a member in recognition of long and effective work toward accomplishing NAMIís goals.

Gloria Huntley Award

Gayle Bluebird, R.N.

The Gloria Huntley Award is presented by the NAMI Consumer Council to a person or organization for exemplary work in eliminating restraint and seclusion.

Ken Steele Award

Steve Miller

The Ken Steele Award is presented by the NAMI Consumer Council to recognize outstanding contributions by an individual living with mental illness to improve the quality of life of others who live with mental illness, increase empowerment and promote integration and inclusion.

NAMI Education, Training and Peer Support Inspiration Award

Deanna Ross

In recognition of her inspirational and exceptional efforts to further NAMI's mission.

Education Awards

Adrianne Kennedy - NAMI Parents & Teachers as Allies Leadership Award, Cheryl Dehaven - NAMI In Our Own Voice Leadership Award, Martha Silva - NAMI Basics Leadership Award, Jim Tritten - NAMI Connection Leadership Award, Stephen Oby Jr. - NAMI Family-to-Family Leadership Award, Kristen Duda - NAMI Peer-to-Peer Leadership Award and Holly Davidson - NAMI Provider Education Leadership Award.

 | Print this page | 


Support NAMI to help millions of Americans who face mental illness every day.

Donate today

Speak Out

Inspire others with your message of hope. Show others they are not alone.

Share your story

Get Involved

Become an advocate. Register on to keep up with NAMI news and events.

Join NAMI Today
Home  |  myNAMI  |  About NAMI  |  Contact Us  |  Jobs  |  SiteMap

Copyright © 1996 - 2011 NAMI. All Rights Reserved.