NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness Home | About NAMI | Contact Us | En Espanol  | Donate  
  Advanced Search  

Sign In
Register and Join
What's New
State & Local NAMIs
Advocate Magazine
NAMI Newsroom
NAMI Store
National Convention
Special Needs Estate Planning
NAMI Travel

Print this page
Graphic Site
Log Out
 | Print this page | 

Medicaid Update

Letter Opposing Medicaid Cuts Sent to House Leaders With 44 Signatures

April 15, 2005

First, thanks to all the NAMI advocates that took the time to contact House Republican members in support efforts to block cuts to the Medicaid program. Your efforts -- along with those of colleague organizations -- resulted in 44 signatures on Representative Heather Wilson's letter opposing cuts to Medicaid as part of the pending FY 2006 budget resolution. These members of Congress showed tremendous political courage in resisting pressure from House leaders to stay off this important letter and they are heroes in defense of the Medicaid program.

Action Needed

NAMI advocates are strongly encouraged to call members of Congress from their state that signed this important letter and offer thanks. All congressional offices can be reached by calling toll-free 1-800-828-0498. In addition, both the Washington and district office phone numbers of all House members can be accessed at

Bob Beauprez (Colorado), Judy Biggert (Illinois), Sherwood Boehlert (New York), John Boozman (Arkansas), Ginny Brown-Waite (Florida), Shelly Moore Capito (West Virginia), Mike Castle (Delaware), Jo Ann Davis (Virginia), Tom Davis (Virginia), Vern Ehlers (Michigan), Jo Ann Emerson (Missouri), Phil English (Pennsylvania), Mike Fitzpatrick (Pennsylvania), Luis Fortuno (Puerto Rico), Jim Gerlach (Pennsylvania), Joel Hefley (Colorado), Tim Johnson (Illinois), Sue Kelly (New York), Peter King (New York), Randy Kuhl (New York), Steve LaTourette (Ohio), Jim Leach (Iowa), Frank LoBiondo (New Jersey), Donald Manzullo (Illinois), Kenny Marchant (Texas), John McHugh (New York), John Peterson (Pennsylvania), Jim Ramstad (Minnesota), Rick Renzi (Arizona), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Florida), Jim Saxton (New Jersey), Joe Schwarz (Michigan), Chris Shays (Connecticut), Don Sherwood (Pennsylvania), Rob Simmons (Connecticut), Chris Smith (New Jersey), Mike Sodrel (indiana), John Sweeney (New York), James Walsh (New York), Curt Weldon (Pennsylvania), Jerry Weller (Illinois), Heather Wilson (New Mexico) and Frank Wolf (Virginia).

Click here to read a copy of the letter.

Andrew Sperling

Director of Legislative Advocacy

NAMI National

 | Print this page | 


Support NAMI to help millions of Americans who face mental illness every day.

Donate today

Speak Out

Inspire others with your message of hope. Show others they are not alone.

Share your story

Get Involved

Become an advocate. Register on to keep up with NAMI news and events.

Join NAMI Today
Home  |  myNAMI  |  About NAMI  |  Contact Us  |  Jobs  |  SiteMap

Copyright © 1996 - 2011 NAMI. All Rights Reserved.