NAMI - National Alliance on Mental Illness Home | About NAMI | Contact Us | En Espanol  | Donate  
  Advanced Search  

Sign In
Register and Join
What's New
State & Local NAMIs
Advocate Magazine
NAMI Newsroom
NAMI Store
National Convention
Special Needs Estate Planning
NAMI Travel


Print this page
Graphic Site
Log Out
 | Print this page | 

For Immediate Release
May 1, 2004

Contact:  Bob Carolla  703.524.7600  email:


NAMI Honors Nation’s Exemplary Psychiatrists;

Celebrates 25th Anniversary at APA Meeting in NYC


Arlington, VA—NAMI (National Alliance for the Mentally Ill) will honor 16 physicians with “Exemplary Psychiatrists Awards” at the American Psychiatric Association (APA) annual meeting in New York City.

“Exemplary psychiatrists are caring professionals who go the extra mile to help their communities,” said NAMI acting national executive director Michael J. Fitzpatrick. “They share our commitment to improving the quality of life for people living with brain disorders, ensuring dignity, raising public awareness, and working to increase access to needed treatment and services.”

As part of  NAMI’s 25th Anniversary, the award presentations will be made at a  “Breakfast of Champions” on Tuesday, May 4, which also will honor all those psychiatrists who previously have received the award since it was established in 1992.

The program is supported by Eli Lilly & Co.

The 2004 awards focus on practitioners developing or directing innovative training programs which demonstrate consumer and family-driven best-practices. The awards are considered one of the highest honors a psychiatrist can achieve, because they come from people who need their help the most—people living with mental illnesses and their families.

NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards

Honorees for 2004:

John V. Campo, M.D.                     Pennsylvania

Charles R. Conway, M.D.              Missouri

David L. Cutler, M.D.                     Oregon

Kathleen Ann Daly, M.D. M.P.H.    California

John Hawkins, M.D.                      Ohio

Alison Margaret Heru, M.D.           Rhode Island

Leighton Y. Huey,  M.D.                 Connecticut  

Zelko Leon, M.D.                           Rhode Island

David A. Pollack, M.D.                    Oregon

Ann Morrison, M.D.                        Ohio

Mark R. Munetz, M.D.                     Ohio

Alan Schmetzer, M.D.                     Indiana

Leslie Smith, M.D.                           Arkansas

Mary Kay Smith, M.D.                      Ohio

Bernardo C. Tarin-Godoy, M.D.       Texas

John W. Tsuang, M.D. M.S.             California


For the list of all honorees by state since 1992, please see


# # #

View a printable pdf version of this press release.

 | Print this page | 


Support NAMI to help millions of Americans who face mental illness every day.

Donate today

Speak Out

Inspire others with your message of hope. Show others they are not alone.

Share your story

Get Involved

Become an advocate. Register on to keep up with NAMI news and events.

Join NAMI Today
Home  |  myNAMI  |  About NAMI  |  Contact Us  |  Jobs  |  SiteMap

Copyright © 1996 - 2011 NAMI. All Rights Reserved.